Wednesday, June 20, 2012

The Results Are In

The Preds walked into the desert with a water bottle full of hope, that water proved to not be enough to get out of the desert healthy. The Predators had five different nominations at tonight's award ceremony, and will only walk away with one trophy. The ceremony was about ten minutes in when the Predators lost their first award. Erik Karlsson was the first trophy winner taking the home the Norris Trophy.

Weber lost the Norris vote by twelve points, and the Nashville community was out raged. It took twitter about fourteen seconds to explode with stats about how bad Karlsson is at defense. The Norris is suppose to go to the best all around defense player. Karlsson was the best offensive defenseman, but there is a legitimate case that he should be a forward and not a blue liner.  

Henrik Lundqvist beat out Pekka Rinne for the Vezina trophy. This year was not Rinne's year for the Vezina,  both Quick and Lundqvist had far superior numbers. To add insult to injury, Rinne lost to Giroux in the NHL '13 cover vote. Although both players are MVP caliber, Giroux plays in a much bigger market, and it would have taken a miracle for Rinne to pull this one out. 

Poile has been nominated for GM of the year in each year of its existence. After losing all of those times prior, Poile got beat out again. Again the twitterverse was outraged, but it's hard to pick against Armstrong, he removed his coach to insert the future Jack Adams winner, Ken Hitchcock. At some point this award will probably be named after David Poile, but for now he will have to settle for third place. 

The good news of the night, Mike Fisher took home the NHL Foundation award. The Predator forward is a warrior of the church not to mention his book was published during the season. Fisher has an active social life and can be seen throughout Nashville and Ottawa. 

Evgeni Malkin took home both the Hart and Ted Lindsay trophies, he is well deserving of both of these accommodations. Gabriel Landeskog took the rookie of the year voting. The kid (and yer I can call him kid since he is younger than myself) deserved the trophy, he was third in the league in hits and led rookies in scoring.  

Doan took home the Messier award, no shock with his team on the verge of a move. Max Pacioretty won the Bill Masterson award, again, no surprise, he did recover from a broken back to score sixty points. The other shock came to a different central division team. The Blues were sure to add the David Backes to their list of winners this year. Alas it was Patrice Bergeron who took the Selke award home.

Hopefully next year will bring the Predators better luck.

No comments:

Post a Comment